What happened at Sandy Hook Elementary in Connecticut is horrifying and a parent's (and community's) worst nightmare. Our first thought, of course, is for Newtown's community members and the devastation they must be feeling for the loss of so many innocent lives. But we also reflect on how this can affect our own children.

The important thing in the short term is to limit exposure to the sensationalist and shocking images that will be on TV. Reassure your children and really listen to whatever concerns they have.
"When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, "Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping." To this day, especially in times of "disaster," I remember my mother's words and I am always comforted by realizing that there are still so many helpers – so many caring people in this world.- Fred Rogers
There are many resources online to help guide you through this difficult process of talking to your children about these kinds of tragedies. The following are a few resources you can use:


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.