MBUSD is implementing an iPad pilot program in the fall of 2011. Each elementary school will have one whole grade level participating in the program. Teachers can integrate the iPad into their curriculum for up to one hour each day with their students. The hope is to increase participation and collaboration using tools such as e-texts, video, and innovative education apps. FAQs can be read here. For more information, read about the program here. Specifics of the plan are outlined in the .pdf file below.
Picture



I purchased an iPad for personal use but I'm hoping to integrate apps into the library program, especially with the pilot program students. I plan to work with the classroom teachers and Karina Gerger, the Teacher on Special Assignment, to use the iPad in the most effective way possible in the library.

I'm also excited about being able to use the iPad to help students search for books using the new Destiny catalog. Unfortunately, our library only has one computer available to search for books. In the past it wasn't unusual to find me in line with the students, waiting for a turn to use OPAC. But with my iPad I'll be able to search for books while on the move throughout the library.

[edited September 2, 2011: Wireless access is not available across the entire campus. I'm hoping to gain access as soon as possible so that I can start using the iPad in the library. In the meantime, I may visit the second graders in their classrooms to show them how to use the Destiny library catalog.]

I'm still exploring the many possible uses for the iPad in the library. There are so many resources online I'm a bit overwhelmed. If you have any suggestions, I'd love to hear them.

ipad_pilot_plan.pdf
File Size: 33 kb
File Type: pdf
Download File


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.